Kindergartens admitting five-year-olds are now part of the school system. Elementary education, intended for pupils aged six to 11 is given in publicly controlled schools operated under the direction of local school boards. Since the autumn of 1968, pupils are enrolled in the first grade only if they have reached the age of six by October 1. The new system calls for six years of elementary school, five years of secondary school and a collegial level to be taken in post-secondary non-university institutions. Another emerging trend is a composite course with graduated options and promotion by subject matter.

The federal Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development assumes full responsibility for the education of Inuit children living in northern Quebec, and uses the curriculum established by the Department of Education of Quebec.

Collèges d'enseignement général et professionnel (CEGEPs), inaugurated at the beginning of the 1967-68 school year, replaced many of the former classical colleges, normal schools, schools of nursing and technical institutes. These colleges, currently numbering about 35, admit students graduating from grade 11 and offer three-year terminal technical programs and two-year academic programs which are prerequisite for university entrance. Private or classical colleges offer the equivalent of the two-year university transfer program offered in the CEGEP, at the end of which successful students receive a diplôme d'études collégiales. Students may, however, continue at these establishments and work toward a degree granted by the university to which the college is affiliated.

There are at present four English-language CEGEPs in operation. In addition, interim arrangements provided for the equivalent two-year CEGEP program at McGill and Concordia universities. Nursing diploma (RN) programs are now carried out exclusively in the CEGEPs. Teacher training is given in the universities after completion of the academic program in the CEGEPs. There are several universities and colleges located in Quebec that offer a wide variety of degree, diploma and certificate programs.

Ontario. Under amendments to the Ontario School Act, county districts replaced former individual units that were administered by three-member boards of trustees. The larger cities, such as Toronto and Ottawa, are excluded and operate their own school systems. Roman Catholic schools are given a choice. In most of Ontario the separate administration of elementary and secondary schools has been abolished and these schools are now administered by the same board. With each county administered by one board, there has been a drastic reduction from thousands of districts to less than 200. An amendment to the act in 1969 provided for schools for trainable retarded children to be established under the jurisdiction of a special divisional board of education.

Ontario has a 13-grade system (senior matriculation) with provision for kindergarten and pre-school enrolment. The predominant pattern of school organization consists of elementary school (kindergarten and grades 1-8) and secondary school (grades 9-13). A variation in this organization is the 6-3-4 pattern: elementary school (kindergarten and grades 1-6), junior high school (grades 7-9) and senior high school (grades 10-13).

A "credit system" covers the former grades 9-12 leading to the secondary school graduation diploma. This provides more flexible schedule patterns with a view to greater freedom of student choice within an expanding range of subjects, even to the creation of individual timetables for students. A credit is given for a course successfully completed, normally after 110 to 120 hours of scheduled time. The diploma (grade 12 standing) is awarded after attaining a minimum of 27 credits.

High schools offer double-option trade courses in science, technology and trades programs, and double-option business courses in business and commerce programs. There is a two- or three-year occupational program to which some students may voluntarily return for a fourth year. There are also special one-year commercial and technical programs that follow grade 11 or 12.

In 1967 former institutes of technology and provincial vocational centres were incorporated into colleges of applied arts and technology known as CAATs. These